Posted by: ladykyle | February 18, 2010

Happy Ash Wednesday!

Here it is. Ash Wednesday. As a child this day would have found me with a dark blotchy cross on my forehead, but as I no longer attend Catholic church…clean forehead for me!

I was laying in bed last night thinking of what I might give up for Lent…this was usually how Lent was handled in my house. Give up something you love and see if you can last for forty days. I never thought about why I had to do such a thing. I always gave up something I loved but could find a replacement for the duration. I would give up ice cream, but not frozen yogurt. I would give up candy…easy enough…I only ate candy around Halloween anyway.

mmm delicious dessert bar from a wedding on StyleMePretty

So, this time I have decided to go for the double-whammy. I am giving up dessert. Yes, I know that seems pointless….how does that bring me any closer to God or have any relevance to Lent to begin with? Well…Lent is the forty days before Easter that symbolize the forty days Jesus was in the desert and tempted by the devil. So in one manner of speaking, I am going to stand strong against the temptations of dessert. I know, I know, it’s not really going to bring me closer to God, but it might make my waist line shrink and my wallet happy right?

The other thing I have decided to give up is complaining.
I know it will be difficult. Because after a long day, especially in retail, who doesn’t like to let themselves vent and throw down those complaints? But, I do hope that this will help me to really consider my words and actions, and embrace all the wonderful in my life….because there’s a whole heck of a lot.

Do everything without complaining or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a crooked and depraved generation, in which you shine like stars in the universe as you hold out the word of life—in order that I may boast on the day of Christ that I did not run or labor for nothing.
Philippians 2:14-16

Leave a Reply

Categories

