Posted by: ladykyle | December 13, 2009

What a Diva!

You should know I’m not what most would call a private person. With that said…be prepared for maybe a little bit of yuck…or a little bit of learning. Call it what you like, but here it is.

I am now the proud although hesitant owner of a Diva Cup. What’s a Diva Cup you ask? Well…it’s a revolutionary alternative to tampons and pads. It is an eco-friendly feminine hygiene choice that reduces landfill waste, shrinks your eco-footprint, and saves you a little money in the process!

Ok, so maybe I’m quoting a little bit off the box…but if you want to know the truth…the Diva Cup is a small-ish silicone cup that you insert like a tampon. It catches your period and can be emptied and cleaned periodically. (periodically…haha…I crack myself up.) It is reusable and cheaper than tampons over time. When you consider that tampons contain rayon and dioxin, chemicals that are not exactly friendly to your (as my sister calls it) va-jay-jay, using a clean silicone cup to take care of your lady business doesn’t sound quite so bad huh?

So, with this in mind, I have purchased model 1 (for women under 30 who have not given birth vaginally) and can be seen proudly wearing the flowered Diva pin upon my lapel. Ok, so maybe not…but I am all about the little purple printed carrying case that came with it.

I would say I’ll let you know how it goes, but I’m just not sure anyone wants to hear that.

Final thought: Upon sharing with my bffl that I purchased the DC (which she first brought to my attention), her response was, “Welcome to the sisterhood.” I couldn’t have said it better myself!

Leave a Reply

Categories

